I Do

I hear my phone ring, I hope it is not my wedding planner calling again. She has called twice this afternoon already. I thought the whole point of hiring a wedding planner was to have someone actually plan your wedding. She constantly calls me, earlier it was to ask if I wanted royal or dodger blue flowers, she should give me a break, I have too many things on my mind.

I reluctantly pick up my phone underneath the pile of wedding magazines scattered on my bed. Thank God, its Dayo calling.

“Dayoooo”

“Hi Wunmi, what’s up? You just fashied me sha”

“Haba now, you know I’ve been so busy, it’s not easy planning a wedding you know”

“What you doing this evening?”

“Ermmm, I’m supposed to meet up with my makeup artist”

“Can you move it? Cos I really need to see you today”

“Oh really? Can’t we talk over the phone?”

“Nah, I have to see you” He laughs nervously

 I’ll come pick you up at 6”

“Okay cool, see you later”

“Byeeee”

I wonder what is so urgent, but then it’s Dayo, ever so dramatic. Maybe it has finally dawned on him, I’m getting married in 2 weeks.

*******

I hear the doorbell ring at some minutes to 6, he is punctual as usual. I look in the mirror one last time and make my way downstairs. I hear him talking to my parents. Dayo is like the son they never had. We bid my parents goodbye and walk into his car. He is very quiet, which is so unlike him. Dayo is a talker, he is never quiet, he always has something to say.

He drives to Yellow Chilli Restaurant. I knew we were headed there. That’s where we go every week for our ‘weekly catch up’, as we call it.  We sit at our regular spot and he places our order.  I talk about my wedding plans, pre-wedding freak-outs and all my bridezilla moments. He smiles, nods his head and pretend to listen. But I can tell his mind is far away. Our food arrives and I continue with my bridal stories. I catch him staring at me more than once while we are eating and he seems nervous, so nervous, he spills his drink. We have desert quietly as I wait for him to talk about what was supposedly urgent. He clears his throat.

“Wunmi, please marry me” I almost choke on my dessert. I’m sure he is joking. I decide to play along.

“Dayo very funny! You know I would love to, but you are too short, it means I won’t wear heels for the rest of my life”

“Wunmi, stop it, please I’m serious!” Before I know it, He goes down on one knee with a ring stretched out to me.

“I’m sorry, it took me this long to figure out I am in love with you. I love you Wunmi, I love your beautiful smile, I love the way you crack your knuckles when you are nervous. You are the kindest and sweetest person I know. I love the things I don’t like about you because it makes you human. I love everything about you Wunmi Sodipo. Please marry me.”

I stare at him in disbelief. A wave of emotions flowing through me. From shock to anger to betrayal, to more anger. It took him so long to figure out he was in love with me!

Dayo and I are best friends. We’ve been friends since secondary school. I know all the girls he has had crushes on, I even helped him deliver his first love letter when we were in JSS3. Although we went to different Universities, we were not too far apart. We saw each other very often, I would use shopping as an excuse to be in Nottingham, and he would come meet me at the train station. We planned our Summer and Christmas holidays in Nigeria together. I remember one Christmas, Dayo didn’t go to Nigeria because he had just started dating Adaobi and she wanted to be in England for Christmas. It was really odd being in Nigeria without him. Adaobi hated me. All his girlfriends did. I didn’t mind. My boyfriend, Yomi didn’t like him too.

The summer after graduation, we hung out more often; Dayo had just broken up with Adaobi and Yomi was in America. I started having feelings for him. He said he didn’t feel that way about me. I was friend zoned.

We moved back to Nigeria and still remained best friends.

He was there for me when Yomi broke my heart. He held me as I cried, stopped by at my house on his way from work for a week bringing sharwama, ice cream and movies. It didn’t take long for the feelings I had for him to resurrect. He noticed and quickly withdrew. He reminded me that I was like a sister to him and he just didn’t love me that way.

Not too long after, I met Ugo and we became serious. We dated for 2 years and then he proposed. Ugo and Dayo planned the surprise proposal I got in the cinema.

I was mad at Dayo for proposing to me, madder at myself for wishing he had done it sooner. Before I met Ugo, before we got serious, before Ugo proposed. I know we could get married and be very happy. I’ve heard married people say you should marry your best friend.

*******

I can hear voices, I’m not sure where they are coming from. I hear my sisters’ voices.

“Iyawo! Wake up! You are getting married today!!!” I open my eyes as I drift back to reality. I see my sisters’ faces ….. I’m getting married today! That must have been a dream because Dayo died 7 months ago in a ghastly motor accident. It feels really weird I had this dream, especially on a day like this. I smile at my sisters as they fuss over me and remind me of the details for the day. I wonder if that could have happened if he was still alive.

My phone rings and my sister hands it to me.

 “Hello wifey” I smile as I hear my soon-to-be-husband’s voice.

Thanks for reading! Have a great weekend!

Feyi

Tagged: , ,

17 thoughts on “I Do

  1. taiwothebabe 31/01/2014 at 5:50 pm Reply

    haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa sooooooooooooooo AMAZINNNGGGG!!!!!. Enjoyed reading. Nice conclusion.Well done. So good.

    Like

  2. Olumide 31/01/2014 at 6:41 pm Reply

    Sighs* it didn’t have the Nollywood type of ending…Great one there! I hope Dayo does not hunt Wunmi in her dreams o!

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 01/02/2014 at 8:30 pm Reply

      I know right? ! Maybe Dayo was trying to pass a message lol. Thanks Olumide.

      Like

  3. pelumi 31/01/2014 at 8:24 pm Reply

    Very nice nd tricky

    Like

  4. Ore Adeyemi 01/02/2014 at 8:19 pm Reply

    #Sigh of relief# Nice story Odun!

    Like

  5. Ore Adeyemi 01/02/2014 at 8:27 pm Reply

    Although I wish d story continues, didn’t want it to end.

    Like

  6. nneka 02/02/2014 at 4:04 pm Reply

    Awww. I loved that. It Made me so sad at the end though

    Like

  7. Iyanu Ashiru 03/02/2014 at 7:30 am Reply

    Very lovely story Odun, I was hoping for a continuation!

    Like

  8. moyheen 03/02/2014 at 2:22 pm Reply

    Nice. Really surprising ending.

    Like

  9. Peter 08/02/2014 at 10:37 am Reply

    Wow.. The twist… I enjoy reading all your write up.

    Like

  10. Feyi's Dairy 11/02/2014 at 9:44 am Reply

    Thanks Peter!

    Like

  11. Mo 04/05/2014 at 5:41 pm Reply

    Really nice story! Didn’t see that ending coming.

    Like

Please leave a comment.

