She’s driving me nuts!

“Hello Tolu”

“Hi Simi”

“I just called to check up on you”

Silence

“Simi, you’ve checked up on me twice today already, I’m FINE”

“I just wanted to hear your voice, anyways should I stop by on my way home?”

“Simi you know my external auditors are around and work is crazy, let’s meet up over the weekend. Take care bye”

“I love you”

“Me too”

I hang up and meet Tokunbo’s mocking gaze. “Guy na wa for this your babe oh, how do you cope bro?”

“Mehn, Toks I’m tired.”

Simi and I have been together for almost two years. We met at a mutual friend’s wedding and it was love at first sight. I stepped out of the reception hall to answer a phone call when I saw her. She strode past me in a red knee length red dress that hugged her curves at the right places and revealed her long straight legs. Her heels making a clanking sound as she walked. For a minute, she captured my attention and I forgot about my sister who was on the other end of the phone line.

When I walked back into the hall, guess who was sitting right next to my seat? Apparently, the hall was packed and she was lucky enough to find a vacant seat next to mine. We chatted like old friends throughout the event and realised we both knew the bride, in fact we all grew up in Air force Base in Ikeja. We found out we had many mutual friends and wondered why we had never met each other. She didn’t hesitate when I asked for her BB Pin and phone number. I was attracted to her lovely personality and intelligence.

 I eventually asked her out after 2 months of endless phone conversations, BB messages and a few dates.  We had a lot in common, in addition to both being Arsenal fans. We were very much in love with each other and I was sure I wanted to spend the rest of my life with her.  She ticked the right boxes. She was the Yin to my Yang.

A couple of months later, the novelty of the relationship wore off and we both settled back into our old lives or should I was the only one who settled because Simi began to complain that I no longer had her time. She wanted us to spend every weekend together. She would come to my house on Friday after work and leave on Monday morning. At the start of the relationship, I looked forward to our weekends together but after a couple of months I wanted space, wanted to hang out with the guys, wanted to go out on my own without my girlfriend. We literally went everywhere together.

What about phone calls? Simi calls me an average of four times every day, she calls me when she wakes up in the morning, calls just to check up on me, calls to ask where and what I’m having for lunch, calls me when she’s about to leave her office; in additional to the bbm conversations we have the whole day. When we are together, she goes through all my bbm chats, she know how many contacts I have, more like how many female contacts I have and doesn’t fail to notice when there’s a new one. She complains if I didn’t make her my BBM display picture at least, once in 3 days.

It was obvious she didn’t have a life anymore, everything she did evolved around me. What happened to the confident and intelligent woman I was attracted to?

I spoke to her about it. She acknowledged that she had insecurity issues, apologised and promised to change. Things were good for another couple of months till the day she came to my office and I introduced her to Nkiru, the new lady on our team. That was all it took to awaken her former self. This time however, she has become a leech. She’s literally sucking out the life out of me.

I’ve decided to end the relationship for the sake of my sanity. It is a very difficult decision to make because I really love her but I’m terrified of getting married to her. I don’t want a wife who would question every move I make or a nagging wife for that matter.  I doubt she will change. Maybe we are not meant for each other, there’s a probably a guy out there for her who wouldn’t mind all her antics.

********

I glance at my watch, Simi would arrive any minute from now. I left home too early, maybe it was guilt eating me up or the gravity of what I am about to do. I have rehearsed my break up speech countless times in my head. I would go straight to the point, no point ripping off the bandage slowly and prolong the pain. I know she will be fine, Simi is a very beautiful and intelligent lady but I know she is not meant for me.

I remember the phone conversation we had yesterday. I had called her when I got home from work to arrange today’s meeting.

“Hi Simi”

“Hi boo, how are you?”

“I’m good, what are you doing tomorrow?”

“I’m going to the salon and then plan to stop at yours, I have to see you!”

“Oh okay, that’s why I called, lets meet up tomorrow evening then”

I heard the excitement in her voice. She sounded as if she had just won the lottery.

I didn’t see her walk into the restaurant till I heard my name. She looked beautiful as usual in a simple tee and jeans. Simi can wear a sac and still look hot. She smiles as she approaches my table and can’t bring myself to smile back at her.

I give her a hug and she reaches for my phone on the table, I tried to snatch it from her but it was too late.

“ I called you as soon as I got here, see there are two missed calls on your phone, why didn’t you answer?”

I gave her no reply because I didn’t have one, my phone was so silence and I didn’t realise she had called me.

“Tolu, why do you like someone stole your cookie, don’t tell me you know what I’m about to tell you?”

“Know what?”

She moves her seat closer to the table and looks into my eyes.

 “I’m pregnant!”

 

Photo credit: http://www.dreamstime.com

Thanks for reading! Have you been in a relationship with a clingy boyfriend/girlfriend? How did you handle it? Please share!

Have a fab weekend

xoxo

8 thoughts on “She’s driving me nuts!

  1. glowingscenes 14/02/2014 at 7:31 pm Reply

    wow….this is so sad…sounds like a tragi-comedy
    How will he do it? hmmmn

    Like

  2. Tolulope 14/02/2014 at 7:57 pm Reply

    really think d guy is stuck with Simi oooo….bt really, she “s also.a pain in d neck..I think dere re times wen guys nid a break frm d emotional to just hang out wit normal friends, also ladies. I wonder why she “s so insecure…thumbs up dear.

    Like

  3. Tolulope 14/02/2014 at 8:01 pm Reply

    really think d guy is stuck with Simi oooo….bt really, she “s also.a pain in d neck..I think dere re times wen guys nid a break frm d emotional to just hang out wit normal friends, also ladies. I wonder why she “s so insecure…thumbs up dear.

    Like

  4. Olumide 20/02/2014 at 9:46 am Reply

    mogbe!!! Tolu what have you done? just when I have planned your escape move.

    Like

  5. imperfectlyperfect92 16/03/2014 at 12:42 pm Reply

    kasala! but truly, this is one thing ladies and guys need to work on, no one wants a clingy person and security guy/girl as a spouse.i know we love tem but we should draw the line, get and enjoy our lives and not depend too much on the other person. it drives them away

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 16/03/2014 at 3:31 pm Reply

      Yh we have to draw the line before becoming too overbearing. Thanks for reading 🙂

      Like

Please leave a comment.

