The Chase

Hi people!!
How are you? How did your week go? Mine was quite busy.
On Sunday, March 30th is Mothering Sunday and I’m putting up a Special Mother’s Day Feature on Feyi’s Diary (trust me, you wouldn’t want to miss it!!), so please remember to check on Sunday.
Also, I’m starting a new series next Friday; it’s going to run for about 7 weeks. Stay tuned!!!
A quick reminder:
You can submit a short (flash) fiction to feyisdiary@gmail.com.
Enjoy today’s post and please remember to leave a comment.

xoxo

Seya invited me to her house.

I was walking with some boys towards the tuck shop during break after Mr. Ojo’s boring double period Geography class. We had just gotten to the end of the senior’s block when we saw Seya walking towards us. The boys scoped her like as usual while she ignored them and whispered to me. I broke away from them and walked towards her; all the while feeling their eyes drilling holes at my back.
I said hello and shook her hand, hugs were not allowed in school, and she asked if I had any plans for Saturday. I said no as soon as she asked without thinking, forgetting the game I had with my cousins. She went on to invite me to her house. I couldn’t believe my ears; nobody in school had been to her house. She promised to send her address to me. She really didn’t have to because I knew her house, everyone did.
I went back to the boys who were eager to know what our conversation was all about.

“She asked me to come to her house on Saturday” I said
“Yeah right!” Biodun mocked, while others laughed.
The laughter died down as they seemed to realize I was serious. It was no longer news Seya and I had become friends.
“Guy, ain’t you lucky? Maybe you’ll even get a kiss from her”

More laughter

“Make sure you give us the full gist about it sha”

Our friendship began two weeks ago in Art class. She had forgotten her poster colour at home and I offered to share mine with her. Subsequently, we would say hello to each other, hang out together a few times during break, exchange novels and our new friendship didn’t go unnoticed by our classmates.

Seya Mohammed.

There was just something about her.

She is easily the prettiest girl in the whole of SS3. She doesn’t giggle annoyingly or catwalk in a funny way like most of the other girls. She also makes a different hairstyle every week unlike some of the girls who had the same hairdo for two weeks. Last week she made shuku and now she has those single plaits girls like doing, I think they call it calabarising.
The gist around school is that she is mixed race; her mother is supposedly British and her father is an army general. It might not be far from the truth considering how fair she is, her pointed nose and long black hair which goes way past her shoulders.
She is the mysterious new girl in school.

*********

On Saturday morning I wake up early to my chores, to the surprise of my family. I wash the cars and do my laundry. Our ‘date’ was set for 2pm and I sure didn’t want to get there late. I leave home by 1:30pm after lying to my mum I was going to see David and she studied my appearance without saying a word. I’m sure she was wondering why I was dressed this way. I wore my new polo shirt my aunt bought me the last time she visited and my pair of converse shoes I usually wore to church on Sundays. I wanted to impress Seya because this would be the first time she would see me in mufti.

I walk towards the big white fence that surrounds her house. I bring out my phone and send her an instant message to let her know I’m outside; she replies immediately with ‘I’m coming’. I open my mouth and release hot breath into my hand just to be sure; I had brushed my teeth again just before leaving home, after all, I might just get that Kiss like Biodun said. Her house is a mansion compared to the other houses on the street; all I had to do was tell the bike man I was going to the white house on Balogun Street.

I lean towards the giant black gate and peep into the big compound; I count 5 cars and I hope her parents are not at home. I’m silently praying her parents at home when I see her walking towards the gate. She’s wearing a pink tank top and acid wash jeans and her hair bounces as she hops towards the gate. I adjust my collar as she opens the gate.

‘Hi Bolaji’
‘Hi Seya’

She moves closer to me and gives me a quick hug. I hug her back and it feels so good. After the hug we stand facing each other awkwardly…

‘Ermm you look great; I didn’t realize your hair was this long’ I finally managed to say.
‘Thank you. That’s why a lot of people think I’m mixed race’ she whispers like she had just revealed a secret.
‘Oh wow’ I reply and raise my right hand to feel the long mane in my hands.
‘Let’s go in’

She leads the way and I following behind observing my new environment. I pass a comment about how nice her house is and she mumbles thanks in reply. We get to the front of the door and I begin to take off my shoes but she notices and says there is no need to do that. I try to put on my left shoe I had taken off when I hear a sound.

A dog barked.

My eyes dart towards the direction of the sound. I see the biggest Rottweiler I’ve ever seen. Its wide eyes stare deep into mine.
You are dead meat today

I stay frozen on the spot. Dogs and I have a mutual hatred for each other. All my encounters with dogs have been disastrous.

Woof! Woof! Woof!

‘Bolaji, she won’t hurt, Lucy come here’
Okay, calm down, Seya is here. She would calm her dog.

The dog doesn’t stop barking.

Bolaji run for your dear life. I hear the warning bells in my head.

I remain glued to the spot and try to form ‘cool guy’ till I noticed the dog’s perfect set of incisors flashing.

My survival instinct comes on and I run as fast as my legs can carry me. I run with all the strength I can muster and I know the dog is coming behind me. I will my legs to run faster before it catches up with me.

The gate is locked and the gateman is nowhere to be found. I begin to figure out how to jump over the gate-

‘Bolaji STOP’
It is only when I hear my name that I look back to see Lucy standing next to Seya wagging its tail.

22 thoughts on “The Chase

  1. Funmi 28/03/2014 at 9:32 pm Reply

    Haa Miss Feyi this is so hilarious…I can imagine Bolaji’s predicament..Anyone ever been pursued by a dog?…well I will share mine soon..

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 28/03/2014 at 9:45 pm Reply

      Lol Funmi… Dogs and I are not the best of friends either. Please share!!!
      Thanks for your comment x

      Like

  2. Olumide 28/03/2014 at 11:46 pm Reply

    Lmao! Bolaji don fall my hand! Fine Seya girl like that messing up in front of her! Chai!!! Dogs&I very close, we communicate too. Love them so much! Have I been chased? Yes but the dog was having fun and I ran for nothing. @ Feyi, u better post part 2 sharp sharp or I order your blog shut down! Nice one!

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 29/03/2014 at 8:44 am Reply

      Lol as in he fall hand big time! I wish I loved dogs….loool Olumide
      Thanks for your comment

      Like

  3. Omorinola 29/03/2014 at 7:48 pm Reply

    Lolllllll I can imagine d luk on bolaji s face. Lol

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 29/03/2014 at 10:55 pm Reply

      Loool poor Bolaji. Thanks for stopping by Omorinola!

      Like

  4. M.O.O 30/03/2014 at 1:40 am Reply

    …I hope there is a second part ooo,Can’t wait…

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 30/03/2014 at 11:26 am Reply

      Lol unfortunately M.O.O it ends here. Thanks for visiting!

      Like

  5. Monisola Adio 30/03/2014 at 2:01 am Reply

    That was sooo hilarious….👍😄. Thanks for making me laugh, Feyi👍

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 30/03/2014 at 11:24 am Reply

      Loooool I’m glad it made you laugh. Thanks Monisola

      Like

  6. drnsmusings 01/04/2014 at 6:08 pm Reply

    Nooooooo! Poor boy! The yabs he will receive from friends. Lol. Please leave it, don’t add to it. I think d punch is in d ending

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 01/04/2014 at 7:14 pm Reply

      Loool I know right?! Yeah, I’m not going to add to it. Thanks Dr N

      Like

  7. Ore Adeyemi 08/04/2014 at 10:17 pm Reply

    Haba Aunty Odun! Ow could u just end it like that? Not fair ooo, after raising my BP; no way! Pls look 4 part 2 o, anyhow

    Like

  8. Lizzieebunoluwa 11/04/2014 at 2:21 pm Reply

    Lol…. *belly-aching laughter*… This is all too familiar. I think i’m the female Bolaji in this case. Trust me, you don’t wanna hear about my dog escapades.
    Welldone Feyi! Your stories are remarkable and very engaging.
    Keep ‘em coming! Don’t stop.
    Cheers!!!

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 11/04/2014 at 4:53 pm Reply

      Loool Lizzieebunoluwa. Please share 🙂
      Awwww thanks hun xx
      Btw you are my namesake. My name is Ebunoluwa too 🙂

      Like

      • Lizzieebunoluwa 11/04/2014 at 5:05 pm

        You don’t say! Seems I missed the memo declaring today as World namesake’s day.
        I just “met” a namesake on blogosphere a couple hours before your comment came in. Is that Super-duper or what? 🙂
        Cheers ma’am!

        Like

  9. toyinalabi 12/04/2014 at 12:34 pm Reply

    Lol….very funny.

    Like

  10. […] The Chase […]

    Like

  11. MercieIfunanya 10/09/2014 at 8:08 am Reply

    *rotfl*
    my sides ache wt laughter! poor boy… his friends will soooo yab him

    Like

Please leave a comment.

