Wardrobe Malfunction

Hi guys,

How are you? How was your Easter? What did you get up to?

I want to share a wardrobe malfunction I had not too long ago.

On that beautiful day, I decided to wear a navy blue fitted dress which was a bit too clingy. I heard that voice in my head telling me not to wear it but I rebelled and decided to wear it because I got compliments each time I wore it. I had worn it to work on 2 previous occasions.

I was serving (compulsory one year national youth service for Nigerian graduates) in a secondary school. I was finally enjoying my job after I was made a class teacher and given more responsibilities. I can like to feel like an efico sometimes sha. Prior to my new role, there were days I went to work and did nothing.

Anyways, as a class teacher, I had to prepare my class for their assembly presentation and we had a little playlet. So it was a busy week for me, trying to organize 22 Year7 students for the assembly.

I got a few comments about my dress and I was feeling fly sha, even though I had to pull it down occasionally because it went above my knees as I walked. During the course of the day, as I walked past a Year 11 class where some of the students gathered in front of their class, I heard some snickers and laughter. I ignored them because those students were sometimes mischievous and thought it was fun to tease youth corpers.

I made my way past them and then headed downstairs towards the primary school section because I needed to borrow some stuff from their Art room for my class assembly. I met a female teacher on my way and our convo went like this:

Me: Good morning ma.

Female Teacher: Good morning.

I take some steps in front of her, cat walking in my dress.

Female teacher: Feyi, check the back of your dress.

*Gasps*

I just stood there frozen because I knew it was bad from the tone of her voice. I take a quick glance at the back of my dress.

Oops

It had loosened right at my backside bum

I was sooo embarrassed. You should have seen me. What made it worse was I was walking with a fellow male corper. I think he started laughing because it was so funny. Luckily for me, I was wearing a dark coloured underwear; thank God I was wearing some lacy pink underwear.

With my deflated pride shakara, and with the help of another female corper, I got a pashmina from a female teacher and tied it round my waist as fashionable as possible. Trust me, I didn’t leave my sit that day except during lunch and I felt so self-conscious. I’m sure some people were wondering why I had a pashmina round my waist and some probably concluded I was stained.

You can imagine my relief when school ended that day and that was the last time I wore that dress, I handed it over to my sister.

Moral of the story: Don’t ignore the voice of the Holy Spirit, even over mundane things .Don’t feel too fly with yourself lol.

I’m sure we’ve experienced wardrobe malfunctions, please share your experiences and let’s have a good laugh.

Enjoy the rest of the week.

xoxo

Tagged: ,

8 thoughts on “Wardrobe Malfunction

  1. Sayra 22/04/2014 at 11:14 am Reply

    I’ve had a similar experience too, mine was worse though and had to dash someone the skirt. Lol

    Like

  2. anaelrich 22/04/2014 at 7:04 pm Reply

    lol…I love to dance salsa. And this one time I was dancing with this guy, we were showing off, twirling and dipping. I was wearing an asymmetrical top (only one side of my top had sleeves). On one of the dips I could feel the top slide off of me, exposing my breast. Luckily, I had one hand free, and I was quick enough to pull my top up again. That was so embarrassing, but luckily nobody else noticed. The guy I was dancing with, did see it…lol. Oh well, he got a free peek show..haha.

    Like

  3. drnsmusings 22/04/2014 at 9:55 pm Reply

    Eishhhhhh! Cringes

    Like

  4. Olumide 25/04/2014 at 4:43 pm Reply

    *can’t watch* sounds like ‘the day i would never forget stories’. Do i have a story thinking… not sure just the usual parting of a guy’s trouser at that zone and when the zipper at that zone is down with one’s shirt tucked in…nothing punctures self esteem like those moments for a guy. Been a pretty careful fellow!

    Like

  5. glowingscenes 25/04/2014 at 9:42 pm Reply

    omg!!! I’m sure you would have given the dress to your sister kia kia..hehe. We’re laughing now bcos it’s past anywway 😉

    Like

  6. Mo 04/05/2014 at 5:28 pm Reply

    Aww…

    Like

Please leave a comment.

