A birthday to remember by Oye Onafeso

Hi people,

Today’s post is a submission by one of my readers. Please remember to leave a comment.

If you want to submit a story, please send it to feyisdiary@gmail.com.

Let’s continue praying for Nigeria and the release of our girls.

xoxo

It was a beautiful morning, the sun was bright, and the sky was blue.
It was one of those days I woke up smiling and did not drag my feet to the bathroom. It was my birthday and I was glad. I dreamt about all the gifts I could receive, I so much wanted an I-phone. Weeks before this day, I made it clear to every relative I could talk to, so if they planned to surprise me, they could do it the right way. Nevertheless, only if I knew the future, only if I had seen the coming hours, only if. Maybe I will not have even left my bed, it would have been happier that way. Staying home and my brothers singing me a birthday song could have been much better. All the same, no man knows what the future has in store.

“Wow, this shirt really fits you, my handsome son.” My mum said. I was smiling, dancing, and talking. I was just happy and it was evident in all I did. It was evident in the way I spoke, my responses to situations, how I ran up the stairs, and down, it was as evident as it could have ever been.
“Thanks mum.” I went ahead and gave her a hug. While we hugged, it was as if the joy between us became friends and did not want to let go. My mum then pats my hair, and then held my arms. She was also smiling; she kept her eyes focused on mine
“You know the reason why we are celebrating this birthday for you?”
“Yes, because you love me.” I replied, smiling.
“We have always loved you, it is also because the last time we celebrated a big party for you was five years back, and we want to make this even bigger. It is going to be an extension of two days.”
I could not believe it, “Wow, two days? What would we be doing for two days mum?” My eyes were wide open and lips far apart.
“For today, we would celebrate with all your friends and loved ones and tomorrow it would just be family, strictly family.” All that my mum said sounded nice to my ears and unbelievable. I was not expecting such a big party. The swimming pools were cleaned, the game house was also refurnished, and the compound was set for celebration.

In about an hour cars started driving in, gradually the compound got fuller and happy birthday wishes and gifts flooded in. I was so glad; I involved myself fully in the celebration of the day. There was a dance competition and I won. Yeah, I danced out all the hours I missed dancing. Sincerely though, I was surprised to have won the dance competition, maybe because it was my birthday I guessed. I ate till I couldn’t stand and I drank till I could not sit, all I could do was lay back. I started unwrapping all of my gifts and yes! You guessed right, right before my eye was my Iphone. Yes, every sense of ownership came within me right away; I leaped up from my bed, forgetting the discomfort in my belly and ran to my mum. I had not even checked the name on the wrap to know who sent it. She just smiled and followed me back to my room “So who gave it to you?” I carefully searched for the wrap and checked and behold it was my dad. I thought he had forgotten me because I had actually even forgotten him. He sent it from the Unites States. I was so glad and that even made me happier, I got to speak to him latter and even got happier because when my holiday comes I would be spending it with him. With him also means in America. I slept that night smiling, it felt great to be of such importance to many people, I received so many gifts, and even a laptop I never dreamt of. I slept that night smiling.

My eyes opened and it was morning, a beautiful morning. I prayed the day would just go has I had dreamt. All of my relatives slept over. I knew we would be going to a shopping mall, then to see the movies and then to the beach. I knew I was going to have a great day. We set out for shoprite. I knew my mum wanted us to buy some groceries and eat some special dishes. I ate a lot but not as much as the day before. I felt like I must have added massive weight since yesterday. We did go see a movie and I slept off. I guess because I had eaten too much. It normally happens that way, when I eat I sleep. The film must have been interesting because all of my relatives woke me smiling, they seemed happier at the end of the film than at the start. I did not care much about films, so I was not bothered. It was time to go to the beach; I could not wait because the last time I went was when I was a kid. I also wanted to swim so badly, wanted to make new friends, wanted to meet new people, wanted to just sit and dream of a happy future, I wish I did all that because the tragedy awaiting us would leave a scar on my flesh and also my heart.

It was fun on our journey to the beach; we sang and played games. I had never had a better time with my family than that day. My brothers, two uncles and their wives with their children (my cousins) were in the space bus, grandma and mum were at the front with mum on the wheel. I was the last man, right at the back with my cousins’. I wished the fun would never end, I wished all the party would never stop, but I had no idea it was going to stop sooner than we planned.

The next thing I heard was screeching of tyres, I looked to my front, and I saw a trailer heading straight for our car from the coming lane. I knew already that nothing could be done, my lips were wide apart, screams in the air, Jesus on my mum’s lips, and then there was the sound like thunder and then blackout. The next time I woke, I was in the hospital, my right leg amputated, my left eyes bandaged, my front teeth broken. I was in a bad state, I could not even move neither could I speak, regret was in my heart, I was saddened, I was angry, I was helpless. If that was the only case, I could still have been a happy man, but destiny would make me a sad breathing thing until the day I die, because I was the only survivor.

3 thoughts on “A birthday to remember by Oye Onafeso

  1. Pat 10/05/2014 at 8:33 am Reply

    Oº°˚˚°ºo №…..this is sad…♍Ɣ heart bleeds for you .

    Like

  2. Charliebrown 10/05/2014 at 10:01 am Reply

    Wow. A very sad turn of events.

    Like

  3. Omorinola 10/05/2014 at 10:36 am Reply

    Wow!!! So sad.my hrt bleeds for u. It is well with u dear.

    Like

Please leave a comment.

