Simi’s Musings 1

Hello People,

I know I’ve been MIA for a while, I’m sorry about that. I had exams and had to take some time off blogging but I’m back now. How have you been? I’ve missed blogging and reading all your comments. Anyways, I’m back now and I’m starting a new series. I’ve uploaded the first episode today to compensate for being away for so long. The next episode will be on Friday as usual.

Please read and remember to leave a comment 🙂

Have a great week!
Hugs and kisses.

*********

‘Simi, I plan to propose to Tayo on her birthday.’

Omg this isn’t happening!! They have only been dating for only a year…

I push my thoughts to the corners of my mind and try my best to react as expected.
‘Oh wow!! That’s so sweet, I’m so happy for you two. ’ I manage to say and give him a side hug. We are both standing in a crowded restaurant waiting to be seated. I was surprised when David called me yesterday and asked us to meet for lunch today, not that we’ve never had lunch together because our offices are close to each other.

‘I didn’t see it coming though…you’ve only been together for about year and…’

‘I know but I really love Tayo and I know she’s the one.’ He narrows his eyes, ‘I can feel it in my spirit and I’m ready to spend the rest of my life with her.’ His eyes stare into my mine as if seeking for approval; I nod and smile.

‘I haven’t told your parents yet, I wanted to tell you first before telling them.’

Seriously dude, they would be over the moon, especially mum. Finally she’s going to have a wedding to plan; since according to her, I’ve chosen to remain single.

I listen as he goes on about the reasons he loves my sister, how he managed to get her ring size, the way he’s going to pull the proposal off… till a waiter comes and shows us to our table. I don’t even know why he picked this restaurant of all places knowing it will be packed at this time. I only have thirty minutes to be back at work.

The waiter waits to take our orders while I take a look at the menu, I’m still trying to decide between chicken chow mein and special fried rice.
‘You should go for the chicken teriyaki, it’s really nice.’

Before I have a chance to accept or decline, he orders two chicken teriyaki served with basmati rice and two glasses of orange juice. I try to hide my irritation. We continue talking till our food comes and I tuck in with much gusto because I haven’t eaten all day and true to his word, it is very tasty. We finish our meals, David picks the bill and we get up to leave. Like a true gentleman, he opens the door for me and we both step into the scorching Lagos sun.

We walk in silence for a few minutes, my mind trying to digest the news I had just heard and at the same time trying to bury the green eyed monster threatening to raise its ugly head. We get to my office first, because David’s office is further down the road.

‘By the way Simi, I have this friend and I think I can hook you two up.’

Oh gosh, even you too? Why is everyone trying to hook me up???It’s not like I go about with a HOOK ME UP sign on my forehead.

‘He’s a Christian, has a good job, really good looking, his younger brother and I went to uni together. He…’

I hope he’s not like you though.

‘Okay fine, suit yourself! I reply and playfully nudge him. He promises to give him my number before continuing to his office.

The rest of the day goes by in a blur, my thoughts processing a million and one things. Chinelo, who sits next to me notices and asks if I’m okay. I make an excuse about not feeling too well, which is true anyways.
On my way back home I go to a supermarket close to the house and get a big tub of Ben and Jerry’s , a pack of Haribo and Maryland cookies, today I don’t care about my waistline, I just need some comfort food. Luckily for me, my parents travelled to Dubai, so it’s just Tayo and I at home with the domestic staff. I am greeted by Idowu, the house maid as soon as I open the door. She reaches for my handbag and the bag containing my goodies

‘Aunty, welcome, how was work today?’
‘Fine.’ I’m really not in the mood for small talk today but it’s so hard to ignore Idowu and her ever pleasant demeanor.
‘I made ofada rice today, should I serve your food on the table or bring it upstairs?’
I’m supposed to be impressed because she knows ofada rice and sauce, with the right amount of pepper and assorted meat is my favorite food.
‘No don’t worry, I’m not hungry.’

Her eyes widen in surprise and I don’t blame her because I never refuse ofada rice. Never.
‘Aunty are you sure? Make I bring small now?’

‘I said NO.’ My reply startles her and she moves away from me and takes my stuff upstairs. I walk past Tayo’s room without stopping to say hello, I know she’s back because I saw her car outside. I lock my door as soon as I get in, change into my PJs, get into my bed and dig into my ice cream.
Halfway through the ice cream tub, and almost through the packet of cookies, I set them aside and do what I’ve wanted to do all afternoon.

I let the tears come.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

20 thoughts on “Simi’s Musings 1

  1. drnsmusings 08/06/2014 at 2:52 pm Reply

    Missed u. Nice one. Polishing my claws for d next episode. Lol

    Like

  2. exceptionalstar 08/06/2014 at 3:23 pm Reply

    I’m glad you’re back.
    It’s OK for her to cry but I hope she doesn’t have anything negative up her sleeves.

    Like

  3. Tolulope 08/06/2014 at 4:54 pm Reply

    Thank God she eventually let it out by crying ….Feyi, welcome back.

    Like

  4. Omorinola 08/06/2014 at 6:02 pm Reply

    Welcome back Feyi, I ‘m looking forward to read d next episode.

    Like

  5. dolli-p 09/06/2014 at 12:40 am Reply

    Paddy,welcome back,was excited when I started reading this story and I was thinking how well you write, looking forward to the next episode!

    Like

  6. Tee Dee 09/06/2014 at 10:06 am Reply

    Hmm Sh’s nt trippin 4 d guy n sh’s nt bodad dat sh’s single so i wonda wat engineered d tears?
    Hp ur exams went gr8? @Feyi.

    Like

  7. temmy 09/06/2014 at 11:31 am Reply

    Hope ur xams went well, good to have you back and eager for the next piece of this already captivating stowi…still I follow

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 09/06/2014 at 12:19 pm Reply

      Hii Temmy, they did! Thank God. Good to be back too 🙂 thanks xx

      Like

  8. Olumide 09/06/2014 at 12:42 pm Reply

    What is she trying for now? She had better not like her sister’s bobo ooo….welcome back aunty feyi, what did you buy for us?

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 11/06/2014 at 6:14 am Reply

      Looool thanks uncle Olumide…ermmm guguru and epa lol

      Like

  9. taiwothebabe 10/06/2014 at 1:43 pm Reply

    Odun mi :). Welcome back. I think I speak for all your fans and followers that we have all missed u. Bt u are not nice o. Why did u stop the story there :(. lol. Really cant wait to see why she is crying. Am not even going to try and anticipate why she is crying, I hope its not what am thinking. Anyways I will wait and see. FRIDAY COME ALREADYYYY Lol. Love u. Good to have you back boo 🙂 xxx

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 11/06/2014 at 6:15 am Reply

      Taiwo:) awwww thanks, I missed u guys too… love u too hun 🙂 xxx

      Like

  10. glowingscenes 17/06/2014 at 9:48 pm Reply

    And she’s back!! Been here to check you out before and didn’t see any update. And now, she’s here with a bang 🙂 This was a lovely read Feyi with potentials.
    How was your exam by the way, I hope you blasted them sha. I trust. wink*
    Sisi Simi, you’ll be fine don’t worry okay?

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 21/06/2014 at 8:41 pm Reply

      Itunu!!! It’s good to be back too!! I missed blogville hehe. My exams went well thank God, I have to catch up on your blog 🙂
      Yeah, Simi would be fine

      Like

Please leave a comment.

