Simi’s Musings 4- My friends call me Suks

Hi guys,

How’s your weekend going? Sorry for the late post; I had a really long day yesterday. Enjoy today’s post and please remember to leave a comment! ( I enjoy reading your comments.)

********

You remember the guy David said he was going to hook me up with, his friend’s older brother? So I received a call on Tuesday evening. I had just gotten back home from work when I heard my phone ring. I saw an unknown number and was a bit hesitant to answer because I was tired. I answered the second time it rang.

“Hello.”
“Hi, am I speaking to Simisola?” The caller asked
“Yeah speaking…ermmm please who am I speaking to?”
“My name is Sunkanmi Durotola, but my friends call me Suks.”
“Okay?”

He introduced himself as David’s friend and told me he had heard so much about me from David. He told me a bit about himself and conversation flowed easily. We spoke like old friends, laughing and throwing soft jibes at each other. We both discovered we attended University of Lagos and never met while in university probably due to the fact that I was in the faculty of social sciences and he was in the faculty of Engineering and he graduated three years ahead of me.

After speaking for over an hour, I reluctantly ended the call with the excuse that I had to go prepare for work the following day. He said goodbye and promised to call before the end of the week. That night I went to bed with imaginary images of what Sunkunmi looked like. I imagined he was tall, dark and handsome (I mean with that voice!) but you know what they say about guys with nice voices; with an afro (I really like guys who can pull off an afro). I imagined a proper gentleman who opened doors for me and treated me like a queen.

True to his word, he called again two nights after, I recognized his number but pretended I didn’t and I sensed he was hurt that I didn’t save his number. This time around, we were on the phone for almost three hours! He must have topped up his phone purposely for the call or maybe he got free minutes from MTN, who knows? Before the conversation ended, he asked me out on a date.

“Are you free on Saturday?”
“Ermmmm not really. I don’t really have much planned…I was invited to a wedding but I really don’t feel like going…I’ve been attending too many weddings lately.” I replied
“Oh, that makes two of us then.” He chuckled “Last weekend alone I had three weddings but I only managed to attend two…besides I’m not even close to the guy getting married this weekend, he’s a colleague from where I used to work. So how about seeing you on Saturday then?”
“Okay …”
“Yaaaaay! So where should we go? You decide.”
“Nah, you decide, just make sure it’s not on the Island because I don’t want to drive to the Island on Saturday. Monday to Friday is bad enough.”
“Who says you have to drive? I’ll come pick you up, just send your address”
“Oh really? That’s nice of you.”
“Yeah I’m nice like that… so is 3 o clock fine?”
“Yeah it is.”
“There’s this new restaurant, I’d like us to try…I’m a foodie, so please bear with me.”
Yaaaay, something else we have in common.
I smile. “It’s fine.”
“I’m not a stalker, don’t worry?” I hear the smile in his voice.
“I hope sooo… goodnight Sukunmi.”
“Goodnight Sims, see you on Saturday.”

Hian, he had already given me a nickname.

I told Susan about the date and she told me to wear my green dress. She said the look I should aim for is sophisticated, fun, witty and attractive.

Its 2:47 now and Sunkanmi should arrive very soon, that’s if he keeps to time. I walk into Tayo’s room to get her opinion of my appearance.
“So how do I look?”
“You look nice… why did you pack your hair though? I think you should let it down.”
“I just felt like. You think I should?”
“Yep, please let it down, you don’t have to be so uptight all the time.” She walks towards me and removes the hair band I used to pack my hair and brushes it down.
She steps back from me and examines me again. “No blusher?”
“Abeg Tayo no need for that. You know I really can’t be bothered with makeup.”
“You look really pretty anyways, with or without it.”

My phone rings and I see Sunkanmi’s number.
“He’s here!” I whisper to Tayo before answering.
“Have fun Simi.” I hear Tayo say as I exit her room.
I pick up my bag from my room and glance at my appearance one more time.

I think I look fabulous.

My heart beats with each step I take down the stairs and I ask myself a million questions. What if I don’t find him attractive? Or he doesn’t like me? What if the dates goes horribly wrong and I fall down?

“Mum, I’m going out with a friend.” I say to my mum who is watching African Magic Yoruba. She doesn’t reply and it’s obvious she’s really engrossed in her movie and doesn’t hear me.
“MUUUUUM.”
“Yessssss.” She replies without taking her glance off the TV screen. I wonder why a woman eavesdropping on a couple’s conversation should hold her full attention, Nollywood and all their drama.
“I’m going out…with a friend.”
She finally looks at me. “Okay…I hope it’s not Susan that is this friend oh? Because everyday Susan…
“No mum, it’s not.”
“Ehen ehn, good…okay have fun oh and please buy that bread I like from Big treat on your way home if you can.”

I ignore the last part of her sentence. Of course I’m not going to tell Sunkanmi to stop at Big Treat because I want to buy a loaf of bread for my mother.
“Bye mum.”
“Odabo (Bye).”

I finally step out of the house and spot a grey Honda Accord parked across the road. I smile at the male figure sitting at the driver’s sit who waves and comes out of the car. He is not as tall as I expected but of average height and cute.

“Hi Simisola.” He smiles warmly and I notice his dimples.

I love love dimples.

“Hi Sunkanmi…sorry for keeping you waiting.”
“Nah, its fine. I didn’t wait for long…nice to finally meet you. You look lovely, nice dress” He says and walks to the other side of the car to open the door for me.
“Thanks.”

Hmmmmm, gentleman. Tick

William McDowell’s I Won’t Go Back is playing in his car and a pleasant masculine smell fills the car which must be his perfume.

Like before, we talk easily as he drives through small traffic. Next, William McDowell’s You Are God Alone comes on and I hum along. “I love this song.” I say.
“My favorite song in his Arise album.” He replies.
We both hum along and sing out loud when it gets to the chorus, with Sunkanmi tapping his steering wheel gently. “You are God alone, from before time began, You are on Your throne, You are God alone and right now through the good times and bad, You are on Your throne, You are God alone…”

“Please can you repeat the track?” I ask
“I always repeat this track at least twice.” He replies and clicks on repeat. This time around, we both sing along right from the beginning to the end.
We get to the restaurant just before 4 pm and after he puts off the engine. He looks at me and says. “I have a feeling today would be memorable…I’m loving it already.”
“Me too.”

Dinner was very tasty, although the portions were a bit much I finished mine. I felt so relaxed with him; there was no need to front. Sunkanmi asked questions about me, he seemed very interested to know about me and was very attentive. I asked him questions about himself and I learnt he was an only child and never really liked it because he was lonely but then went ahead to warn me he was a bit spoilt. He lived in Ilorin till he was thirteen when his father got transferred to Lagos. He talked about his job, in an indigenous oil servicing firm, told me about his church which he was actively involved in as a member of the choir.

“That explains the voice I heard when we were singing in the car… you have a very nice voice.”

Like smooth creamy hot chocolate.

We talked and talked and talked.

We didn’t leave the restaurant till 7:45pm and the drive home was much quicker because the roads were free.
“Thanks Simi for today… for your time… your pleasantness… I had a really nice time today and would definitely love to see you again.”

Woop woop

“Awwww thanks Sunkanmi, I had a lovely time too.” And would certainly want to see you again.

He steps out of the car and comes to open the door for me and walks me to the front of my house.
“Goodnight Sims.” He says and gives me a side hug.
“Goodnight Suks.” I reply and walk into the house.
Thankfully my mum is not in the sitting room because she would demand for her Big Treat bread. I go straight to Tayo’s room and meet her on the phone. She sees the excitement on my face and knows I have good news for her.

“David, please can I call you back later?…. Simi just got back…okay babe…love you too.”
“So how was it?” she asks
“Ohhhh my days!!!! It couldn’t have gone any better.”
“I’m all ears.”
I start to tell her about my date and I hear a message alert on my phone and see a message from Sunkanmi.
“He just sent me a message.”
“Simi you are really blushing oh, oya open the message, let’s read.”

I click on the message.

“Guy how far? I just dropped Simi off at home. I think I’m falling for her already…she’s beautiful and we really clicked tonight. Thanks bro for hooking us up.”

We look at each other and burst out laughing.

Image credit: http://www.presentationmagazine.com

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

19 thoughts on “Simi’s Musings 4- My friends call me Suks

  1. Olumide 28/06/2014 at 3:11 pm Reply

    Bursted! That moment you send the wrong sms to the wrong person! And for some reason network never fails! Simi is in love…awwww…

    Like

  2. adefunke62 28/06/2014 at 3:44 pm Reply

    Soo funny, really can imagine d situation, nice one Feyi

    Like

  3. drnsmusings 28/06/2014 at 4:14 pm Reply

    Why am I smiling so foolishly? Lol

    Like

  4. exceptionalstar 28/06/2014 at 7:10 pm Reply

    Let this be for good, amen.

    Like

  5. Pristine 28/06/2014 at 7:41 pm Reply

    I almost thought you had gone AWOL when i didn’t see an update yesterday.
    Thanks for this nice piece.
    @story, wrong message to the wrong person. Lol! 🙂

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 29/06/2014 at 5:56 pm Reply

      Hi Pristine, sorry about that.
      Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Like

  6. ditolite 29/06/2014 at 12:03 am Reply

    Hahahhahaha, cnt laff ooooo. Right msg, wrong recipient.
    Simi is in…u gues right looooovvvvvveeeee.
    Am so api for ha oooo atleast Tayo is safe frm “big sis jealousy”.

    Like

  7. atinukemi 29/06/2014 at 12:11 am Reply

    Awwwwwww!!!! :]

    Like

  8. temmy 30/06/2014 at 9:11 am Reply

    so so loving this… there’s surely SOMEONE for everyone. more ink Feyi

    Like

  9. Lizzie Elizabeth 01/07/2014 at 3:15 pm Reply

    Awwwww 🙂 ! So sweet, but of course something is gonna happen, hopefully good because all seems too good to be true.
    Anyways beautiful write-up as usual.

    Like

  10. Omorinola 02/07/2014 at 10:34 pm Reply

    *Big Grin* happy for Simi

    Like

Please leave a comment.

