Simi’s Musings- Conclusion : From Zanzibar, with love!

Hi guys,

I sincerely apologise for not putting up a post last week…I was quite busy and couldn’t make out time to write.

Today’s post is extra loooong because it is two episodes in one- last week and this week’s post.

Simi’s Musings finally ends today, thank you for reading each episode every week. When I started Simi’s Musings, I had an idea of how I wanted the story to unfold but surprisingly, it didn’t go according to my ideas, sometimes characters take over and tell the story and that was exactly what happened.

I hope you enjoyed it and learnt a lesson or two? Please be kind enough to leave a comment after today’s episode. I would like to hear from you!!
God bless you
Xoxo

*******

“You still haven’t told me what happened Tayo.” When she came back yesterday, mum and I helped dress her wounds and we were all furious. Dad wanted to send policemen to arrest David but Tayo pleaded with him not to.

Some minutes of silence pass between us.

“Yesterday was not the first time he hit me.”

“Really?” I’m dumbfounded. I look at her eyes accusingly and say”Tayo and you didn’t tell me.”

“I didn’t tell you because he begged me after it happened… he said it was a mistake and promised it won’t happen again…you remember the Chanel bag he gave me?”

“Of course I remember.” I have borrowed the bag on two occasions.

“That was an atonement gift.” She let out a bitter laugh. “I was stupid enough and blinded by my love for him to believe it won’t happen again… I convinced myself that he was a good man, a good Christian man.”

“So I went to his house yesterday…I didn’t even want to go because I knew grandma and grandpa were coming but he insisted I come because he wanted to spend the first day of the year with me. He was upset when I got to his house because I didn’t come on time and I tried to explain to him but he would have none of it. Anyways, we eventually made up and settled down to watch a movie and then he said he was hungry, I suggested we drive down the road to Sweet Sensation to get food and he said no that he wanted me to cook.

I told him I wasn’t up for it because I had spent the morning cooking at home and then we started arguing. He said I wasn’t acting like his fiancée and that I was disrespectful…he said how was he sure I won’t be acting this way after we get married…he said all sort of hurtful words… and I had enough and told him I was leaving.

I picked up my bag and walked to the door and I heard him say ‘How dare you walk out on me?’ Before I could reply, he jerked my hand and pushed me to a chair…I got up to leave again and then he landed the first slap-”

“Oh my goodness, Tayo no way.”

“After several slaps and punches, he finally got over himself and started apologising…he was even crying…it was then it dawned on me that I was engaged to a potential wife beater…I removed my engagement ring right there, dropped it for him and walked out.”

I’m too stunned to say anything; I can’t believe what my ears.

“Simi I… I did the right thing right?”

I look at the mark on her right eye through blurry eyes and gather her into my arms. “Of course you did sweet heart.”

We hold on to each other tightly with Tayo’s heart wrenching sobs breaking my heart. I had my reservations about David because I felt he was controlling but not in my wildest imagination did I imagine he was a hitter too.

I would go to his office and give him a piece of my mind.

******

I’ve been waiting in the reception of the law firm where David works for over 30 minutes. He must be stalling; surely he can’t be that busy. I had only been to this office twice and I’ve never waited this long,

The office seems quiet, not the usual buzz of smartly dressed lawyers and paralegals clutching their briefcase and files, constant ringing of the reception phone lines and even the reception is empty, I’m the only visitor. I guess it’s because it’s January; there’s a sort of quietness and dullness that accompanies each day in January, probably a way of recovering from the festivities of Christmas.

“You can go in now.” The receptionist finally says. I pick up my bag and march into his office in giant strides, resisting the urge to scream his name along the thickly carpeted corridor.

“Hi..hello…Simi.” He says cowering behind his desk; hiding behind his laptop. On a normal day, he would have given me a hug.

“Hi David.”

“Please sit. Should…should I get you a drink?

“No thanks David I’m fine.” I reply still standing.

“Look, I’m sorry about what I did to Tayo…I don’t know what came over me.”

“Really? I’m surprised you don’t cos from what I heard, that wasn’t the first time.”

“I’m sorry okay. Just sit down so we can talk.” He closes his laptop and points to one of the chairs opposite him.

“I won’t be staying for long. I only came here to understand why you would hit someone you claim to love.” I reply stressing the syllables of the word love.

“I love Tayo and she knows it… I can’t believe she called off our engagement, after all I’ve done for her.”

His reply stirred up the anger I was trying to suppress and I shout “David listen yourself! You give your fiancé a black eye and you are shocked she called off your engagement? Who wants to be engaged to a potential wife beater?”

“Please lower your voice Simi, this is an office.” He says nervously. “Like I said, it was a mistake.”

“You know what? I don’t even have anything to say to you other than the fact that you need help. Serious help and I don’t want to see you within miles of my sister.” With that, I walk out of his office. I can’t believe this is the same guy who introduced me to Sunkanmi.

*****

“Happy birthday to you…happy birthday to you…happy birthday dear Simi, happy birthday to you.” My parents and Tayo sing and Tayo holding a birthday cake. I hope it’s red velvet.

“Awwwww thanks guys.” I had been woken up few minutes earlier by a phone call.

“We wish you…many happy returns of the day; Long life and prosperity. Hip hip hip!” they continue.

“Hu-rray.”Three of them form a circle with me kneeling in the middle and dad leads us in prayer.

“I pray God gives you the best birthday present you can ever wish for in Jesus name.” Mum adds as soon as dad ends his prayer.

“Amen!” We all chorus. My parents leave and Tayo takes the cake downstairs.

Today is my 27th birthday and I certainly don’t feel any different. Sunkanmi was the first to call me at midnight and Susan’s call was waiting while I was talking to him. I woke up to several missed calls, text messages and BBM messages on my phone; that’s what I love most about birthdays, all the love and attention you get on that day compensates for the other 364 days of the year.

I open my Bible to Jeremiah Chapter 1, where verse 5 is highlighted in pink. God told Jeremiah that before he was formed in his mother’s womb, He knew him. That He had set him apart to be a priest to the nations before he was born. This verse reminds me each time I read it that God already had a plan for my life even before I was born; it means I must be very special and important to Him that he knew me even before my mum conceived me! There’s a certain confidence that comes with knowing that the Almighty loves me that much.

I kneel beside my bed to offer a prayer of thanksgiving to the One who has kept me alive since the day I was born. I hear the sound of my door as I am rounding up my prayer and find Tayo on my bed with a wrapped present.

“Yaaaaaay, my first present! So what did you get me?”

“Actually, it’s from mum, dad and I.”

I open the gift wrap to find an iPad mini. “Oh wow! You know I’ve wanted to buy an iPad for ages.” I grab her in a massive hug. “Thank you! Thank you!”

“You are welcome!”

“What time is Sunkanmi coming to pick you up?”

“He said he’ll come by 4.”

“Okay, that’s perfect then.”

“Perfect for?”

“Susan and I are taking you to the spa for some beauty treatment.”

‘Are you serious?!”

“Yep…it’s your birthday and you deserve to be spoilt rotten.”

“Why do I have a feeling this is going to be a very special birthday?”

“Hmmmm you just never know.”

“I’m also going to make you breakfast so just go brush your teeth and I’ll be at your service.”

“Awwww I’m overwhelmed gosh…thank you.”

“You are welcome sis.”

I love my sister so much. It’s been three months since she broke up with David and she seems to have gotten over him; no more seclusion and tears. I told her God would bring the right man that would treat her like a princess that she is.

*******

Sunkanmi and I have just been shown to our table by a waiter; apparently he had to make reservations because the restaurant is quite popular. I’m wearing a red dress, nude heels and gold stud earrings and he’s wearing a shirt I got him for Christmas and dark blue jeans. I felt overdressed when he came to pick me up and almost went back upstairs to change into something else.

We talk for some minutes before the waiter comes for our order. I notice Sunkanmi has been extra touchy today- holding my hands, giving me hugs.

“The food was yummm…the fish was cooked to perfection.”

“Yes it was. Now I see why Emeka recommended this place.” Emeka and Sunkanmi are close friends and work in the same office.

“I’d recommend it to my friends. It’s a bit pricey though.”

“Yeah but it’s so worth it.”

“I guess so.”

“Sims please excuse me I’ll be right back.”

“Okay?” I wonder where he is going.

I check my BBM while he’s gone and reply a message from Tayo asking me how my date it going. A few minutes later, I see him walking back towards the table. My heart flutters as our eyes meet; his eyes saying a million things.

He takes my hands in his as soon as he sits and says “I love you sweet heart.”

“I know you do and I love you too Sunkanmi.” Just then I hear All of Me by John Legend playing. “I love this song.” I say to Sunkanmi.

“I know you do babe.” Before I realise what is happening, he gets on his knee right in front of me and produces a black velvet box from his pocket.

“Oh my gosh! Sunkanmi you are about to propose!”

“Simisola mii, ololufe mii (my lover), my heartbeat my best friend… I bless God for the day he brought you into my life… The past 11 months have been amazing, you’ve been my confidant, best friend, prayer partner and biggest fan and I don’t want it to end. I want to wake up every morning to the sound of your voice, your beautiful face and beautiful smile…Simi I want to grow old with you, I want you to be the mother of my children and a mother to Joshua. I want to walk this journey on earth with you by my side…Simisola Omotola Bakare will you marry me?

“Yes Yes I will Sunkanmi.” I reply with tears in my eyes and he slides the ring into my finger.

“I love you Sims.” He gets up and pulls me into a hug.

“I love you too…the ring is soo beautiful, I love it.” I reply and give him a kiss.

Its only when I hear the applause of other people in the restaurant that I realise they’ve been watching us.

*******

I called Tayo immediately after I became engaged and she wasn’t surprised; apparently Sunkanmi had informed my family he was going to propose to me. I called Susan too and she was surprised and really happy for me, I could hear it in her voice. It was obvious Sunkanmi put some thought into his proposal because the ring fit perfectly; the restaurant played my favourite love song just when he was about to propose, the bunch of roses he gave me and the waiters who captured the proposal and took pictures with Sunkanmi’s phone.

We are on our way to my house and we’ve been talking excitedly about our wedding plans.

“We should have 3 kids.”

“Suks calm down, let’s do the wedding first.” I tease back and peck him on his cheek.

“See why we should get married really soon…so I can get kisses all day.”

“So that’s the only reason you want to marry me abi? Hmmmmm SUN-KAN-MI.”

“Well-”

“I want just two kids plus Joshua which makes it three.”

“Four then”

“You would carry the last pregnancy right?”

“Yep anything for you my sweetheart…I told Joshua I was going to ask you to marry me and do you know what he said?”

“What did he say?”

“I thought she already wants to marry you, haven’t you asked her already?”

“Children are so innocent.”

“They are I had to explain to him that I still had to ask you to make it official and then he said okay.”

“Joshua is an intelligent little boy.”

“Like his dad right?”

“You wish!” I reply and nudge him on his shoulder.

We get to the front of my house and he turns off the engine. Sunkanmi says a word of prayer: “Heavenly father we thank you for today. We thank you for adding another year to my FIANCEE’s life, we thank you Lord for her life, for how you’ve kept her right from the day she was born till this day. Father we ask that you crown her year with goodness and that her path continue to shine brighter and brighter. We also thank you for bringing both of us together and for this step we took in our relationship today. We ask Lord that you take perfect control as we plan our wedding and prepare for marriage and help us Lord to always put you first in our lives in Jesus name.”

“Amen.”

“Goodnight darling.”

“Goodnight wifey.” He gives me a peck and I come out of the car. He blows a kiss to me while I watch him drive away.

I skip happily towards the front door and meet everyone in the living room when I open the door.

“Congratulations!!!” They chorus.

*******

From Zanzibar with love:

Dearest Tayo,

How are you?! Hope you’ve recovered from all the wedding stress? My wedding planner extraordinaire!

I’m so grateful to God for how the day turned out. From the minute you woke me up to pray for me ( I don’t know if you noticed, but I had tears in my eyes as you said that heartfelt prayer that morning.) and when mum came in to the room prayed for me and gave me more motherly advice while you went to coordinate the bridesmaids.

I was so happy we got to church on time because I had nightmares of getting to church so late that my wedding was cancelled lol. As I walked down the aisle with daddy, it dawned on me I was no longer daddy’s girl; but when he placed my hands in Sunkanmi’s and I saw the love in his eyes, I knew I was in good hands. I had never seen him look more handsome! I didn’t expect him to be so emotional as he said his vows.

The decorations in the reception venue was perfect, just the way we wanted it, I didn’t know yellow was such a beautiful colour; we had an amazing bridal party, I’m so glad Susan came up with the Happy mime you guys did, even Joshua wasn’t left out, he had fun with the little bride. The only let down was the souvenir which didn’t go round.

We danced so much at the reception that when we got home that night, we hit our beds straightaway after Sunkanmi helped me out of my dress, we were too tired to do anything lol.

We are having such a blast in Zanzibar!! I’m sure you can tell from our pictures. Our hotel is very close to Paje beach which is the most beautiful beach I’ve ever been too; turquoise blue sea water, white sand and lots of palm trees. I picked some beautiful sea shells for you. I can’t believe we’ve been here for a week already and I almost don’t want to come back to Nigeria!

You remember this verse mum pasted up on our room when we were much younger? “And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to His purpose.” I know God is writing your love story and at the right time, He’ll bring it to pass.
You did such a fantastic job, I couldn’t have asked for a better maid of honour.:)

Sunkanmi sends his love and he said to tell you his best man has been asking for your number.

I looooooove you soo much and I look forward to seeing you soon.

Mrs Simisola Durotola (excited much lol)

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

38 thoughts on “Simi’s Musings- Conclusion : From Zanzibar, with love!

  1. exceptionalstar 15/08/2014 at 2:42 pm Reply

    You wouldn’t believe this but I was listening to music via my laptop while reading, just as I got the proposal part, the John Legend -All of me part , guess what happened?
    It came right on, I was just laughing. God bless you for this wonderful piece, it was a blessing indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Feyi's Dairy 17/08/2014 at 2:34 pm Reply

      Exceptionalstar really?! What a coincidence lool and like Dr N said, a good surprise is on its way!
      Thank you so much for following the series. God bless you too

      Like

  2. khelzc 15/08/2014 at 3:31 pm Reply

    lovely piece expecting more of this.

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 17/08/2014 at 2:35 pm Reply

      Thank you so much Khelzc. Would deliver more by God’s grace.

      Like

  3. ditolite 15/08/2014 at 5:04 pm Reply

    Aaaaaw…
    God worked evrytin out perfectly nd i knw Tayo wil av hers soon.
    Odun, more grease oooo.

    Like

  4. drnsmusings 15/08/2014 at 5:45 pm Reply

    @exceptionalstar, that means a surprise is on d way
    @feyi, nice ending. These hitters, they shd go n face professional boxers O!
    Cheers

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jade 15/08/2014 at 8:12 pm Reply

    I loooove this beautiful piece. Am inspired and encouraged to Keep waiting for ‘my Sukanmi’ knowing God has the perfect timing and he is never late. God bless u my dear.

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 17/08/2014 at 2:37 pm Reply

      Awwwwwww Jade!! He’ll come at God’s perfect time! God bless you too and thank you 🙂

      Like

  6. Omorinola 16/08/2014 at 12:18 pm Reply

    Aaaww, so romantic. Am all smiles. 9ce piece Odun. Is there going to b season 2? (Eye lashes)

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 17/08/2014 at 2:38 pm Reply

      Thanks Morinola! I’m glad it made you smile:)
      About season 2, fingers crossed.

      Like

  7. Alim Reira 16/08/2014 at 8:05 pm Reply

    A wonderful conclusion. ‘As many as wait on the lord’ .This story explains the importance of trusting in God just like Sims did. More power to your elbow Feyi. God bless.

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 17/08/2014 at 2:39 pm Reply

      Shall renew their strength! I agree with you.
      Thank you Alim and God bless you too!

      Like

  8. Tee Dee 16/08/2014 at 9:21 pm Reply

    I’m glad i followed dis series til d end. Totally worth it…beautiful piece! work weldone. anticipatin d next…

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 17/08/2014 at 2:40 pm Reply

      awwwwww thanks Tee for following 🙂
      Coming soon 🙂

      Like

  9. tolulope 16/08/2014 at 10:56 pm Reply

    And they live happily ever after!!!!its bin so gud all d way.Ride on dear,sure Tayo’s wedding is for us to just predict like we do some nollywood movies.waiting up for ur next series.

    Like

  10. Nk3m 17/08/2014 at 1:08 pm Reply

    Wat a hapy ending 4 simi 🙂 Nice one @Feyi, I hope u wil giv us anoda lovely serie. Kudos

    Like

  11. Olumide 18/08/2014 at 5:37 pm Reply

    what do I say????? interesting piece but like Oliver Twist we want… well done ore mi! hello Sims…dinner tonight? shhhh….madam Feyi don’t interrupt. God bless you!

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 20/08/2014 at 9:05 pm Reply

      Ose ore miii:) Simi ke???she’s a married woman oo, Tayo is single *winks*
      God bless you too.

      Like

  12. Lizzie Elizabeth 20/08/2014 at 12:07 pm Reply

    Awww. Wonderful ending to a beautiful story.. Simi started as an unhappy single lady and see how it changed. Amazing writer too i must say :* and please oh Aunty give us something soon.
    Welldone!!!!

    Like

  13. glowingscenes 22/08/2014 at 7:57 pm Reply

    And they lived happily ever after….:)

    Like

  14. Mosinmiladeoluwa 25/08/2014 at 9:07 am Reply

    Awww, so nice.I always anticipated each episode. Love the Godliness in it too. Well done. 🙂

    Like

  15. dolapo 03/09/2014 at 9:31 pm Reply

    yeaaay! happy ending, odun you are a romantic! loved the story,really nice. looking forward to your next one.

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 03/09/2014 at 9:38 pm Reply

      Hehe I am 🙂 A hopeless one at that lool. Thanks xx

      Like

  16. MercieIfunanya 10/09/2014 at 5:52 am Reply

    Awww… so sweet… so romantic!
    *finally got 2 read ds afta much postponement*
    And thanks 2 u too… u’r so meticulous in ur description!
    Thanks 2 God 4 blessing her wt a godly man lyk Suks. Dts our dzire too, u knw?!
    And to Tayo, she’l hv her own man coming her way soon. Good riddance 2 bad rubbish lyk David (so fyn a name yet so faulty a personality). Lord, don’t even bring them ‘within miles’ of us.
    God bless ur pen real gud nd inspire u as u prepare ur nxt story!

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 12/09/2014 at 9:20 pm Reply

      Amen! Thanks Mercy for following through and thanks for all your kind words 🙂

      Like

  17. Ebi 13/09/2014 at 7:27 pm Reply

    I love this story. Beautiful story, Feyi. Keep it up.

    Like

  18. MaryLove 17/09/2014 at 9:46 am Reply

    Awwww what a happy ending…..great story!

    Like

Please leave a comment.

