He makes all things beautiful in His time. Ecclesiastes 3:11

June 27th 2014

I just finished an aptitude test at the University of Lagos alongside hundreds or thousands of people. The test was scheduled for 12 noon but we didn’t start till about an hour later. While on the queue, I saw a guy I had done another test with some months ago. You start to make friends with people when you attend several aptitude tests. I saw some other familiar faces at the test venue.

Before the test, the guy sitting next to me started making small talk. He told me about his brother who got a job with a multinational after writing about seventeen unsuccessful aptitude tests. I silently prayed that it wouldn’t be my portion.

After the test, I checked my phone and saw a mail from a firm I had been expecting for almost two months. I started their application process in October 2013 with an application form. Between then and today (9 months, if I was pregnant, I would have had my baby), I had written 2 aptitude tests, a personality test, a group discussion and an interview. By the time I got to the final stages, which were the group discussion and interview, I was very positive about getting this job. I also applied for other jobs during this period too.

I opened the mail expectantly and got the biggest disappointment of my life.

I was unsuccessful.

For the next hour or so, tears flowed down my cheeks as I remembered the interview I did (which I thought went well), dreaded the fact that I was still in the business of writing aptitude tests, had no source of income, breaking the news to those that knew about it, the past 9 months, the dreaded question of “have you gotten a job now?” the disappointment, hurt and fear of the future.

Then a feeling stirred up within me.

I felt at peace.

I can’t even begin to describe it. It was later, when I told my best friend about how I felt and she said it was peace that passes all understanding.

It wasnt God’s will.

I called my mum and told her the sad news.

But then I remembered a big disappointment I had in the past and how God used it for something greater. He used it to show me that indeed all things work together for good to those who love God and are called according to His purpose. He reminded me that His thoughts are not my thoughts, neither are His ways my ways. He also reminded me that He will do exceedingly abundantly above all I ask or think according to his power that works within me. And also, that sometimes His answer is NO.

On my way home that day, I went to Coldstone to buy ice cream because ice cream makes me feel better (lol don’t judge). When I got home, my parents encouraged me and told me everything would be fine.

A friend of mine came visiting that evening. I wasnt up for a visit but he had planned to come see me before the news and I couldn’t tell him no. As soon as he saw, he asked what was wrong and I told him. When he was leaving, he reassured me that everything would be fine; he said I should read my Bible and seek God to find out what he has planned for me.

That night before I slept I offered praises to God.

I sang my heart out to him.

The Bible says we should give thanks in all things.

I decided to type this down because I believe sometime in the future, I’ll look back and remember and use this to encourage someone who is hurting.

Sept 10th, 2014

Today like everyday in the past one month, I checked my mail box for THE mail I had been waiting for; it wasn’t there. I went about my normal activities and my phone went off in the afternoon. I turned it on in the evening when I could charge it and the first message I saw was that I had been offered employment!! The text told me to check for a mail they sent to me. I checked my mailbox and saw an email from them confirming the employment offer. I was told to come to their office the following day to pick up my employment letter.

I screamed and told my sister who was sitting beside me. I immediately called my parents and told them the good news.

Not only did I get a job offer, I was posted to the unit I requested for.

God couldn’t have done it any better.

******

The job I got was the same aptitude test I went for on June 27th (the day I got the other rejection). When I applied for the job, I just did it for the sake of it because I believed I would get the other job.

The application process lasted for only about 3 months compared to the other one I really wanted (9 months)

Both companies are top companies in the same field.

When I wrote down the post on June 27th, I wrote it that day believing that one day I would use it as a testimony and it has come to pass. I’m sharing this story to encourage anyone who is trusting God for a job (or anything) to keep believing God and not be discouraged because God is faithful.

I have some advice for anyone in a similar situation:

1.Put all YOUR trust in God. Forget what the economy says, forget how many unemployed people are in Nigeria because God is Omnipotent (All powerful) He is not moved by statistics. The Bible says that the earth is the Lords and the fullness thereof. God says that His thoughts towards you are thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you hope and a future. Pray without ceasing.

2.Faith without works is dead. Are you just sleeping and folding your hands instead of applying for jobs? Subscribe to Job websites so you can get job alerts, talk to people (it was a friend that sent me the job advert).

3.Keep yourself busy. In the 11 months I was unemployed; I started my accounting professional exams, started this blog and taught maths in a secondary school. Look for something to do! Pick up a hobby, learn a skill, volunteer etc.

4.Surround yourself with GOOD people. The support and prayers I got from my family and friends was overwhelming. They were always there to encourage my faith, send me job adverts etc. Detach yourself from negative people.

One of my earliest posts on this blog was Job Hunting and I want to say God has been faithful!!!

My new series Through The Waters starts next Friday.

Have a fab weekend!
xoxo

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

47 thoughts on “He makes all things beautiful in His time. Ecclesiastes 3:11

  1. Omorinola 21/09/2014 at 5:53 pm Reply

    Am so encouraged by uR words, I tap into d anointing . Congrats dear and God bless you.

    Like

  2. MercieIfunanya 24/09/2014 at 11:47 pm Reply

    Tanx 4 d words of encouragement!
    Congrats on ur new job… Higher nd higher u wil go IJN!

    Like

  3. Frances Okoro 02/10/2014 at 6:54 am Reply

    Congratulations dear..i am mega glad for you.
    God is always faithful!

    Like

  4. odije 03/10/2014 at 4:36 pm Reply

    Congratulations Odun, am proud of you.

    Like

  5. tee 19/01/2015 at 12:32 am Reply

    #blessed
    My 1st time on ur blog. Already hooked
    🙂

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 19/01/2015 at 9:51 pm Reply

      Awww thanks Tee. Welcome aboard!!! I look forward to reading more of your comments!

      Like

Please leave a comment.

