Through The Waters 2

Hi blogfam 🙂

How are you? Hope you are having a great week?

Thanks for all your congratulatory messages on my new job! So, I’ve decided to add something new to my blog- like a testimony feature, where we can encourage one another and build each other’s faith by sharing what God has done for us. What do you think?

Remember you can send in short stories to feyisdiary@gmail.com

Enjoy today’s post and please remember to leave a comment ( I loove reading your comments!)

Have a fab weekend!!

xoxo

******

Gbenga was driving as fast as he could to get to the family hospital in the estate. Tunji sat at the back with his wife’s petite frame in his arms and Mosope sat beside him. Bode and Onyinye followed behind in Bode’s car.

As soon as Gbenga got to the hospital, Tunji rushed out of the car carrying his wife with Mosope following behind while Gbenga went to park at the car park. A doctor on duty quickly attended to them and told them to wait outside the hospital room while he examined her. Outside the hospital room, Tunji, Mosope, Gbenga and Onyinye held hands in a circle praying for her. Tunji saw the Doctor as soon as he came out and quickly pulled away.

“I’m sorry we lost her.” The doctor said with a solemn expression.

Tunji sank to the closest chair beside him, bent over and buried his face in his hand. He knew she stopped breathing on their way to the hospital.
He heard screams and cries around him and the doctor saying something about his wife having a heart attack. Mosope sat on the floor screaming and Bode was kneeling by her side trying to comfort her; Gbenga stared at the doctor in shock.

“Doctor what do you mean we lost her? My mum was healthy some minutes ago and you are telling me she’s dead?” he shouted.

Onyinye tried to take hold of her husband’s hand but he pushed her hand away and walked out of the hospital.
Tunji got up and entered the hospital room. Her body was on the bed, her face looked so peaceful; it looked like she was asleep. “Deborah why did you have to go so soon? Why? Why were you in a hurry to go to heaven? What happened to the promise of growing old with me?”

He fell to his knees by her bedside and wept.

******

Mosope roused from sleep with a headache; she had only managed to sleep for 4 hours. After they got back from the hospital yesterday, Bode’s parents came over and his mum brought food and insisted they eat. Bode stayed over even long after his parents had gone; he wanted to spend the night in their house but she told him to go home because he had to go to work on Monday.

Her dad left them in the living room and didn’t come out of his room; he was asleep when she went to check up on him.Bode left her by 11 pm and long after he left, she remained curled up on a sofa in the living room just staring into space. She was waiting for someone to wake her up from this horrible nightmare.
Was it not some hours ago she had this conversation with her mum?

“Sope have you packed some food for Gbenga and Onyinye?”

“Yes mum I have.”

“Ose (thanks) my dear.” Onyinye had protested that they had been fed well enough already and there was no need to take some food home but her mum insisted.

“Don’t forget to give Sunday his food too.” She added referring to their gate-man.

She smiled at the memory as tears rolled down her face. The sound of her ringtone brought her out of her reverie. “Hi Bode.”

“Hello sweets…I’m outside your house, please open the door.”

“Okay, I’m coming.” She got up from the couch and went to open the door. She checked the time and saw that it was 5:38am. He usually left for work on Mondays at 6 am to beat the morning traffic. She opened the door and the man in front of her didn’t look like he had gotten any sleep. He immediately pulled her into a hug and held her for a while as she started crying.

“It’s okay baby.” He comforted, moving his hand in a circular motion on her back.

“Why did she have to die Bode? Why?” she asked as she eased off.

“I don’t know Sope…I’ve been asking God-”

“Hmmmmm why did He have to take her away? She was a good Christian. It’s so unfair”

“Mo, God has all the answers.” She moved from him and sat on a coach. He followed her and sat beside her in silence.

“She is…was just 52…52 Bode…. She didn’t even reach the promised 70 years in the bible. Funny thing is that she was healthy…or so we thought” She got up and picked a family photo frame taken the day her mum turned 52. Her mum had insisted they go to a studio to take professional pictures that morning. Gbenga had been dragged along too; who knew that was the last picture they would take together as a family.

“How’s your dad?”

“I haven’t even seen him this morning…Poor daddy, they were so close.”

“I know.”

“Don’t forget to call your office to inform them about what happened.”

“Okay.” How was she going to pick up the phone to say her mother died yesterday?

“Sope I have to go.” Bode got up and gave her a hug. “I love you so much. I’ll be back after work.” He said and wiped the tears from her eyes with his fingers. “Be strong okay?”

“I’ll try.”

She walked him to the door and watched him drive off.

Then it hit her.

Mummy would not be around for their wedding.

******

Tunji heard the sound of a car drive out of their compound and guessed it was Bode’s car. The young man would have spent the night with them if Sope hadn’t insisted he shouldn’t. He rolled over to his side and saw Deborah’s empty’s spot beside him. His Debo should be lying beside him. On days when they woke up really early, they would stay in bed talking till it was time for him to go to work. They would pray together and she would go into the kitchen to prepare breakfast. She always made sure he was well-fed in the morning before going to work. He smiled as he remembered her ‘proper’ breakfasts as she called them.

Since she retired from her teaching job 2 years ago, she was always home to welcome him from work in the evening. She would meet him at the door with a kiss, and he would go up to freshen up while she set the table for dinner. While they ate, they would talk about each other’s day.
He blinked back the tears that stung his eyes; he needed to be strong for Sope. The poor girl must be grieving hard because she was very close to her mum. It was so unfair she won’t witness her wedding or even carry her grandchildren. He decided to go check up on her.
He knocked on her door “Sope can I come in?”

“Yes dad, come in.”

He walked in and saw her sitting on her bed leaning against the headrest and looking through some family albums.

“Good morning daddy.” She looked at him and he saw her puffy eyes.

“Good morning dear.” He replied and sat on her bed. She was looking at an old family pictures of when they went to London several years ago; Gbenga and Mosope were 20 and 16 years old. The picture was taken at Oxford Circus station, right at the exit of the train station. He had taken the picture; Deborah had her hand across Mosope and Gbenga.

Mosope remembered shopping so much that day that her feet felt like jelly; her mum wanted to buy something for everyone and they ended up having excess luggage. She smiled at the memory. When they got back to their hotel that night, she kept moaning about her legs and her mum gave her a massage.

“Wow, time flies, I can’t believe it’s been-”he did a mental calculation “7 years.”

“Daddy, mummy wasn’t even sick. How could she have slumped and died?”

“I know…she only complained of headache over the past few days and the plan was for her to go to the hospital today.” He laughed “Her body is actually in the hospital.” Father and daughter looked through several albums on Mosope’s bed in silence.

“I have to make some phone calls…I have to break the news to a few people. Let’s pray together before I go.”

“Daddy I really don’t feel like to be honest.”

“Sopeeeee, lets offer a prayer of thanksgiving.”

Mosope laughed. “Thank God for taking mummy’s life right?”

“Sope the bible says we should give thanks in all things. We should thank God for the life your mum lived, for the fact that she knew the Lord and is with him right now and for the lives she touched, including yours and mine.”

“Well, I don’t feel like thanking God now.”

“Mosope.” He reached for her hand. “Don’t say that dear. I know you are hurt…I am too.” He sniffed. “Even though we don’t have all the answers we want, remember that God is a good God.”

“Ohh daddy.” She hugged him and broke down in tears.

*****

Sope remained in bed and sent a text to her best friend Dolapo who called her back immediately.

“Hello Sope the message I just got…is it true?”

“Yeah Dolapo it is.”

“Oh noooo!Nooo my God!”

Dolapo was silent and she thought she had hung up. “Dolapo?”

“Sope where are you?”

“I’m at home.”

“Okay…see you soon. I love you.” With that she hung up.

Next, she called her boss to inform her; she was very sympathetic and promised to visit.

Almost two hours later, Dolapo called Mosope and told her she was at the door. Mosope opened the door and saw Dolapo standing outside with tears in her eyes. “Sope I’m so sorry.” Dolapo said and hugged her. The two friends remained that way for a while. Dolapo came into the house and Mosope shut the door.

“Dolapo you didn’t have to come.” Mosope protested after realizing Dolapo must have left the office because she was wearing work clothes.

“I’m sorry I didn’t come sooner. When did it happen?”

“Yesterday.” Mosope sniffed. “Just yesterday…Dolapo ,mummy was healthy.”

“My God. Mosope pele.” Dolapo gathered Mosope into her arms again.

“How’s your dad? And Gbenga?”

“Daddy is upstairs, we spoke this morning. How is he going to cope without mummy ehn? Gbenga and his wife were here yesterday when we rushed her to the hospital.”

“Sope…I can’t even imagine how you feel…remember God loves you. Have you had breakfast?”

“Breakfast ke? You know mummy makes breakfast for us. She makes the sandwiches I take to work.”

“I remember when I stayed at your house for a week. She either packed cereal for us or made tuna sandwich.”

“Dolapo I’ll miss my mummy. She won’t be there for my wedding.” Sope broke down again and Dolapo held her friend.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

21 thoughts on “Through The Waters 2

  1. Lizzieebunoluwa 26/09/2014 at 8:56 am Reply

    Awww…shucks! Now you had to go make me cry. Very moving story Feyi. I hope the light shines out of the clouds for this family.

    Like

  2. exceptionalstar 26/09/2014 at 1:18 pm Reply

    Hmmm… (sighs)
    Wonderful work Feyi.

    Like

  3. taiwothebabe 26/09/2014 at 3:08 pm Reply

    ummmm very sad :(. Really hope things turn around for them.

    Like

  4. Tee Dee 26/09/2014 at 8:02 pm Reply

    Ohkay Debo’s death shocked me…i lyk literarily felt pity 4 d family. I hp Gbenga n Sope kip dia faith tho n as 4 Tunji, may his faith b stronger. #NicePiece Odun.

    Abt d testimony addition…dat’ll b a lovely upgrade.

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 27/09/2014 at 5:58 pm Reply

      I pray so. Thanks Tee!
      Yeah I think so too, thanks for ur feedback 🙂

      Like

  5. Alim Reira 27/09/2014 at 8:00 pm Reply

    Shocked!! Deborah was quite a lovely character. Didn’t believe she’ll be dismissed so quick. I pray the family remains happy even in her absence. Write on Feyi, Chilling 4 the next episode. I trust God will grant my desires, I won’t mind sharing it has a testimony when the time comes. Thoughtful initiative. CIAO!!

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 28/09/2014 at 10:03 pm Reply

      Yeah…sigh 😦
      Amen!! I’ll be looking forward to posting it.
      Thanks 🙂 🙂

      Like

  6. aadebimpe 30/09/2014 at 8:50 am Reply

    A very dear friend of mine is going through a similar situation at the moment. I don’t think it is a coincidence I found this story-I’m patiently waiting to see how it all plays out.

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 30/09/2014 at 11:24 am Reply

      Hi Adebimpe I pray God stregthens your friend. I’m glad you found TTW and thanks for reading 🙂

      Like

  7. Torera 30/09/2014 at 4:56 pm Reply

    Awwh! She went too soon! I always wonder why good people have to die so early (or even die at all)! God knows best and Sope should pls remember that. I had tears in my eyes reading this update!

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 30/09/2014 at 5:42 pm Reply

      I knowww Torera, I question why that happens too.
      Awwwwww sorry it made you cry 😦

      Like

  8. Frances Okoro 02/10/2014 at 8:07 am Reply

    So sad, reminds me of my friends own story, I was there when the news came in.it was just..so sad but God is still a good God

    I’m excited at this new series..and i’m pulling up a chair to follow along.
    And biko, where’s the subscription box to your blog?

    Like

  9. Frances Okoro 02/10/2014 at 8:09 am Reply

    This is so sad, reminds me of my friends own story, I was there when the news came in.it was just..so sad but God is still a good God

    I’m excited at this new series..and i’m pulling up a chair to follow along.
    And biko, where’s the subscription box to your blog?

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 02/10/2014 at 10:29 pm Reply

      Its so hard to lose a loved one 😦
      Yaaaaay!! It shd be on the right hand corner of the homepage or right on top depending on what device you use.

      Like

  10. ditolite 02/10/2014 at 6:07 pm Reply

    Hmmmm,
    One tin I knw is dat notin happens witout God’s knowledge. Morova, we ar crafted in His hands so if anytin befalls us its bcos He permitted it.
    Al tins work togeda for GOOD.
    Its sad tho, bt d workings of God…we can nt comprehend xcept His Spirit gives us understanding.
    I remember when my friend lost ha dad, she askd d same question so I can understand wat Sope is goin tru.
    Hmmmmmmmmm, God help us all to understand ur ways especially wen we ar going through hard times.

    Like

    • Feyi's Dairy 02/10/2014 at 10:50 pm Reply

      True Ditolite, we are engraved in His palm.
      Amennn and May he grant us the strength/grace to trust him

      Like

  11. Pat 03/10/2014 at 8:37 am Reply

    Touching…Tears in ♍Ɣ eyes…God knws best evn when we can’t understand his ways.

    Like

Please leave a comment.

