Till We Say I Do Interviews – Chinedu and Agnes Ossai

Hello 😀

Thank God is Fri-yay! Fridays are my favorite days for obvious reasons lol. I go to work with a bounce in my steps knowing that there is no work for the next two days.

We have our second edition of Till We Say I Do Interviews. If you missed the first one, click here. 

On the blog today, we interview Chinedu and Agnes Ossai. I’ve known them for a little over 4 years and always seen them as two people who are clearly in love with one another. The way they hold hands, the names they call each other and just the friendship between them.

My sisters and I went to visit them a while back and we watched their wedding video and they told us how they met. When we got back home, I told my sisters that I really liked them!

Without further ado, let’s get to the interview, shall we?

IMG_20170511_151214_848

Hello Chinedu and Agnes Ossai, it is a pleasure to have you on Till We Say I Do Interviews! Please tell us a bit about yourselves.

Chinedu (Husband)- Chinedu Ossai is a lawyer by profession. One of three boys from a family with three other female siblings of the Ukwuani descent of Delta State. Most importantly, a Christian.

Agnes (Wife)– My name is Agnes Ossai. I have a degree in Education and proud to be an Educator. I love to impart youngsters, enjoy giving godly counsel to singles also enjoy listening to godly music.

How long have you been married?

We’ve been married for 5 years.

How did you meet?

Chinedu – We were in the same youth choir, I was a secret but platonic admirer of her simple disposition to life, especially the Christian faith. At the time when it became evident that I needed to start preparing by way of prayer before tying the nuptial knot, I became drawn to her. The more I tried to resist the inner assurance that it was her, the more I became drawn to her. I just had to let it be.

Please note that we attended the same primary and secondary school and almost attended the same university, grew up in the same community in Lagos, but all these factors did not in any way influence my decision to marry her. It was just love for simplicity and display of Christianity in a most alluring way. Got the ball rolling in 2010 and tied the knot on January 14 2012.

Agnes – My Chinedu happened to be a family friend. He was a leader and choirmaster in my church. One day, he came visiting as usual and I saw him off. As I returned, I heard an audible voice from God that he was my husband. I objected immediately but couldn’t resist. He asked me out after a while then I remembered I heard God’s voice.

IMG-20170511-WA0008

Did you have a “list” for your future spouse? If yes, what did you have on the list?

Chinedu – Simplicity, humility, educated, not eccentrically extrovertish, natural beauty, all embedded in the Christian life.

Agnes –I did oh. A Godly man; tall, dark and handsome; a man who will always take me for who I am and loves me more than I do; someone who says I love you frequently without the need to remind him to say so; someone who would gist with me in the kitchen while I cook; not stingy at all; a man who will not encourage me to backslide… my list was long but I’ll stop here.

The truth is that, my man, my love has all and more of the qualities I listed above, making me the happiest wife in the world!

Describe your spouse in on word.

Chinedu – Christian

Agnes – Mr. Fantastic

 Why did you decide to wait?

Chinedu – Because God wanted me to wait. I also grew up with friends who had the same resolve and I also prayed for the grace to wait.

Agnes- We are both Christians and the Bible says that marriage is honourable and the bed undefiled. Also, I had always told myself I want to start having sex only after I have gone to the altar.

“Sex is sweet only when having it with your husband. The rush will not be there and you’ll take your time to enjoy it to the fullest.” – Agnes

 What practical steps did you take to make it possible?

Agnes – We tried as much as possible not to get too close together when we were alone or where people couldn’t see us. Avoided thoughts of immorality when together, we did not try to hug each other before marriage, let alone kissing. Though the thought was always there, I kept reminding myself of the promise I made. I also didn’t want to disappoint my parents and the church.

IMG-20170511-WA0010

 How did you deal with peer pressure?

Chinedu – Peer pressure was no issue because from my youthful age, I defined the rule of friendship engagement. The church helped a whole lot to define who could be my friend. At school, I had christians from the school fellowship as friends; on campus, my close friends were christians, though not restricted to my denominational fellowship.

The deciding factor for me was that my christian identity and standard was an open secret at every point of my developmental stage. I never attended any birthday parties at unholy hours not at unholy places.

I never pretended to be a holy genius. Hence, I was careful and cautious in my approach to life. A lady once admired my lips and requested to touch it but I refused. That is not to say, I never had near falls but God’s mercy was always there for me. Job 31:1 was a song among my peer group while growing up and this helped a whole lot.

Agnes – Well, it was easy quite easy for me because I was brought up in a godly home. I am a gentle girl and have very few friends and always minded my business.

“Never test your strength by putting yourself in a compromising situation.” – Chinedu

Why is sex worth waiting for?

Chinedu – Those who waited found out after all that there was no need to rush for it. The intermittent urge for it prior to marriage won’t kill. There is a joy that comes after a patient wait. The opportunity to share the experience is also a reason to wait. Also, blackmail and STDs are also avoided.

Agnes –Wow sex is worth waiting for! Doing it outside marriage is like “thieving”. One would be doing it with the fear of being caught. Having that type of fear doesn’t make pre-marital sex worth it cause you’ll just be punishing yourself. Sex is “sweet” only when having it with your husband. The rush will not be there and you’ll take your time to enjoy it to the fullest.

IMG_20170511_151242_858

 Any advice for young Christians?

Chinedu- Young Christians must have life principles that are worth dying for. Watch where they go, what they see and whom they choose as friends. A chirstian leader told me few weeks after his wedding, which was prior to mine, why the rush? Just wait for it, you’ll enjoy it and get tired of it.

Never test your strength by putting yourself in a compromising situation. Learn to say no to even supposed Christian friends in compromising situations. Idleness is a killer and a veritable tool in the hands of the devil; be busy with something productive for the lord also. Selah

Agnes- Young Christians should patiently wait for the right person. Abstain from all pre-martial sex because it may mar their marriage. Do not be in a haste to bite what you cannot finish. Marry someone who loves you and who is God fearing.

Don’t be carried away because of the title or position of the person in church, pray very well and be convinced before accepting the proposal. Finally, keep yourself only for your would be spouse.


 

Who else noticed they had matching  outfits in all the pictures?! I hope you enjoyed this interview as much as I did​. Just as Chinedu said, never test your strength by putting yourself in a compromising situation.

What lessons did you pick up? Please share with us in the comment section.

Thank you for reading! Please share this post with other people!

Have an awesome weekend!

Xoxo

 

P.S : If you would like to be interviewed please send an email to feyisdiary@gmail.com

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Till We Say I Do Interviews – Chinedu and Agnes Ossai

  1. exceptionalstar 12/05/2017 at 7:48 pm Reply

    I know the couples and I’m glad to share from their experiences. God keep their home. More grace to you Feyi.

    Like

Please leave a comment.

